Lock iconRectangle 1Rectangle 2 + Rectangle 2 CopyShapeRectangle 1

Kateřina Rudčenková

Dream of a Journey: Selected Poems

  • Sale
  • £10

This book will be released in October 2021.

Pre-orders are charged at time of order and the book will be posted to you as soon as it becomes available.


Edited and Translated by Alexandra Büchler

A book of poems by Kateřina Rudčenková selected from her four poetry books, translated by the editor/translator Alexandra Büchler, who will also write an introduction.

Kateřina Rudčenková’s fourth collection was awarded the Magnesia Litera prize for 2014 in the category of poetry.


On her debut work, the collection Ludwig (Klokočí, 1999):
‘In the poetry collection Ludwig, every word emanates cranked-up destruction, and at the same time it is as if this motion slowly shifts whole images into other places and other bodies.’ – Marie Langerová, Lidové noviny

On her fourth collection, Walking on Dunes (Fra, 2013):
‘[The poems] emanate carefulness, circumspection and patient consideration. The groundwork for most of them is composed of movement, specifically walking. Walking serves as a source of inner strength which pulses throughout this outwardly calm and patient collection.’ – Markéta Kittlová, iLiteratura



Born in Prague in 1976, Kateřina Rudčenková is  a poet, prose writer and author of stage plays. Winner of the German Hubert Burda prize (2003) and the Magnesia Litera (2014), she secured second place in the drama competition the Alfréd Radok Awards (2006). Her poems and plays have been published in German, English and Slovene. Rudčenková is also the author of four stage plays; for Niekur she was awarded 2nd place in the Alfréd Radok Awards, and it was staged by the Prague theatre Divadlo Ungelt.

(image copyright: Adam Hlavac)