Lock iconRectangle 1Rectangle 2 + Rectangle 2 CopyShapeRectangle 1

Elaine Canning

Rhys Davies Short Story Award Anthology 2021

  • Sale
  • £9.99

This book will be released in October 2021

Pre-orders are charged at time of order and the book will be posted to you as soon as it becomes available.



A collection of new contemporary short stories by Welsh writers, representing the winners of the 2021 Rhys Davies Short Story Competition. The twelve diverse and original stories in this anthology explore a range of themes including the relationship between memory and history, people and place, as well as class and culture within innovative approaches to form, content and voice.

The Rhys Davies Short Story Competition is a distinguished national writing competition for writers born or living in Wales. Originally established in 1991, Parthian is delighted to publish the 2021 winning stories on behalf of the Rhys Davies Trust and in association with Swansea University’s Cultural Institute.

Previous winners of the prize have included Leonora Brito, Tristan Hughes and Kate Hamer.

“As Wales’ pre-eminent short story writer it’s appropriate that the name of Rhys Davies should be attached to the latest contest for works in this much neglected form. The competition, which began in 1991, has encouraged a whole range of new writers to test out how best to manage something that’s often more substantial than a poem but nowhere near the long distance of the novel. As culture moves ever towards the swifter and the more concise, we are delighted to support the relaunch of this national competition.”
- Peter Finch, Secretary, Rhys Davies Trust


Elaine Canning is a writer and the Executive Officer of Swansea University’s Dylan Thomas Prize. Author of a book and several papers on Spanish Golden- Age drama, Canning has also published several short stories and is currently working on her first novel.