Lock iconRectangle 1Rectangle 2 + Rectangle 2 CopyShapeRectangle 1

Rhys Davies

Selected Stories

  • Sale
  • £8.99

In this Library of Wales edition, with a foreword by Tomos Owen, the essence of his work is revealed with a new selection of dark, witty and finely crafted stories.

“Rhys Davies is a first-class writer and every short story... a novel in itself.” -- John Betjeman

“Gently wrapped, these stylish perceptive tales have centre as hard as steel, and are all the better for it.” -- William Trevor, The Guardian

“Rhys Davies’ characters all walk straight out of
the page and hold one with an almost physical attraction.” -- The Times

“Beautifully written.” -- The Spectator


About Rhys Davies:

Rhys Davies (1901-78) was among the most dedicated, prolific and accomplished of Welsh prose writers, in both the short story and the novel form. Davies wrote approximately one hundred short stories, as well as twenty novels, three novellas, two books about Wales and an autobiography. Born in the Rhondda, Davies spent most of his life in London, although much of his writing is set in Wales, typically either in a fictionalised Rhondda or further west in his rural stories. Davies was awarded an OBE in 1968.